Training for the Super Spartan Part 1- Workouts

A few weeks ago, my friend J. Wong asked if I wanted to do the Spartan race with him and a few other friends. Having successfully completed Tough Mudder last year, I said I would think about it (read here). Then Living Social had a deal for the 1/26/13 Super Spartan race in Temecula for $65 ($30 cheaper than the early bird sign up), and as I’m never one to turn down a good deal, I have officially signed up.
I was supposed to document my training process for Tough Mudder, but I didn’t because I wasn’t expecting on running the course. So, things will be different this time around, I’ll be documenting the process and I’ll be running with friends! Anyways, here’s my current workout regime, and I know there is a lack of cardio, but I will be incorporating kettlebells, swimming, and running in the near future, but not quite yet since I destroyed my ankle playing basketball (my body decided to forget how to run when I was dribbling down the court at full speed).
Monday
Morning
– Yoga/stretching (45-60 min)
– ab ripper x

Afternoon

– 3 x 10 Pull ups
– 3 x 10 lower back exercises
– 3 x 10 machine/dumbbell row
– 3 x 10 hammer curls
– 3 x 10 dumbbell curls
– 3 x 10 barbell curls
– 3 x 25 lunges
– 3 x 25 squats (on bosu ball)
– 3 x 25 calf raises/ankle stabilizing exercises (on bosu ball)
Tuesday
Morning
– Yoga/stretching (45-60 min)
Afternoon
– Basketball (1.5-2 hours)
– 3 x 10 around the world shooting drills
– 3 x 10 layups on each side
Wednesday
Morning
– Yoga/stretching (45-60 min)
– ab ripper x

Afternoon

– 10, 8, 6 Dumbbell/Barbell bench
– 3 x 10 Incline dumbbell bench or 3 x 25 pushups with feet on exercise ball
– 3 x 10 chest flys
– 3 x 10 chest cables
– 3 x 10 tricep dips
– 3 x 10 tricep pull downs with cables
– 3 x 25 lunges
– 3 x 25 squats (on bosu ball)
– 3 x 25 calf raises/ankle stabilizing exercises (on bosu ball)
Thursday
Morning
– Yoga/stretching (45-60 min)
Afternoon
– Basketball (1.5-2 hours)
– 3 x 10 around the world shooting drills
– 3 x 10 layups on each side
Friday
Morning
– Yoga/stretching (45-60 min)
– ab ripper x

Afternoon

– 3 x 10 Dumbbell shoulder press/arnold dumbbell press
– 3 x 10 Side Dumbbell raise
– 3 x 10 front dumbbell raise
– 3 x 10 dumbbell raise
– 3 x 10 barbell curl
– 3 x 10 dumbbell curl
– 3 x 10 hammer curl
– 3 x 10 tricep dips
– 3 x 10 tricep pull downs
– 3 x 25 lunges
– 3 x 25 squats (on bosu ball)
– 3 x 25 calf raises/ankle stabilizing exercises (on bosu ball)
Saturday/Sunday
– Basketball
– Surf
– Swim
– Rest
Spartan Race has made a bold claim that they are tougher than Tough Mudder, we shall see in January if this claim is valid. If you want to join us, we are doing the 1/26/13 Super Spartan race and our heat is at 12 noon.
Leave a Reply

  • Insert your email address and you'll find out when my new posts are before anyone else!

    Join 13 other followers

