Persimmon picking

If I was given a choice between the city and the country side, I would choose the country side in a heartbeat. Thankfully, San Diego provides the feel of a city, while still giving me the freedom and space to roam the outdoors. My grandparents live in the country side in Canada, and they are located next to the Klassen’s blueberry farm. So when I was growing up, I would go every summer to the blueberry farm to get fresh-off-the-bush blueberries. I’ve never had any blueberries so big or so sweet in my life. Because of this, I’ve been enamored with growing/picking/hunting/fishing for my own food, which explains why I love the outdoors. So when B. Tang told me about the persimmon farm in Ramona, it was a no brainer to go and get some fruit.

As far as I know, there are 2 major types of persimmons, the Hachiya and Fuyu. The Hachiya is a larger, acorn-shaped persimmon that can only be eaten when it is fully ripened. The Fuyu can be eaten even when it is not at its ripest. The persimmons that we had picked were Fuyu. I personally don’t like eating the skin, so I’ll sit and peel 10-15 persimmons at a time, so I can enjoy them all at once. The picking season for persimmons is October-November, but many Asian countries will dry the excess persimmons to eat them later on in the year.

While the ‘orchard’ doesn’t have a website, B. Tang had heard of the place from her landlady who had just gone a few weeks before. I am personally a big fan of persimmons, one of my childhood friends had a persimmon tree in his backyard and his parents would always give us big bags of persimmons. B. Tang and I arrived at the orchard and drove to the owner’s house at the top of the hill. After a few minutes of awkwardly waiting at the door, not knowing if the owner was going to come outside (even though we could see her washing the dishes), we finally got her attention and she came out to greet us. The owners of the orchard are a nice elderly couple who had been there for 13 years. The trees were planted before they had gotten there, and the current owners just didn’t want to see fruit go to waste, thus they allow people to come pick fruit for a modest price. The cost to pick was $10 with a $5 deposit on the buckets that you have to use, which are orange home depot 5 gallon buckets. There are a few rules:

  1. Don’t climb on the trees
  2. Don’t use their chairs/ladders/anything lying around. You can bring your own ladders.
  3. Don’t break branches off

We left the house and drove back down the little hill and proceeded to start picking. We noticed that all of the good persimmons were just beyond picking reach, and realized that we should have brought a ladder. Oh well, you live and learn. We started filling our buckets, and after almost 2 hours, both of us had full buckets. While we were picking we noticed a few llamas at the neighboring farm/lot which were making a lot of noise. We tried to get closer, but llamas are known to spit on people, so we kept our distance. We also saw that there was a few pomegranate trees, melon field, and some other herbs and plants that the elderly couple were growing. As much as I wanted to take some pomegranates, I restrained myself to just pick persimmons. After we had finished, we took a few photos, and then went back up the hill to get our deposit back and get our persimmons bagged. While we were waiting, 2 couples who were getting persimmons asked if they could weigh our buckets and it turned out that we had picked ~25 lbs of persimmons each!

Hours of Operation, and the phone number

Look! Persimmons! ...I mean Pomegranates...

Persimmons

Llamas

After getting our persimmons, we left the orchard and decided to check out the sign we saw earlier that said ‘EMU OIL FOR SALE!’ We drove down the road and onto the property, and when we got out there were 2 dogs barking at us. The younger and more aggressive dog was tied to the tree, while the older black lab came straight up to us and nudged us towards the emu oil. The owners were apparently not home, instead they trained their dog to nudge any potential customers to the emu oil, weird huh? The emu oil was approx. $15 for 2 oz. Now, what is so special about emu oil you ask? Well, let me tell you…I have no idea. The owners left a sign saying the uses for emu oil, and all that I can remember is that it is essentially a cure all for aches and pains. We left the orchard without buying anything, much to the dismay of the lab. After our adventure at the emu farm, we went home to divvy up our persimmons. B. Tang gave away most of her persimmons, while I immediately started peeling them, although I did bring some to work to share with my labmates who either had not had persimmons before or were in love with them. Those whom had not had persimmons before soon became persimmon lovers, as a few weeks later they told me they had gone to the store to buy more.

The good ones are just beyond reach, so bring a ladder

25 lbs of persimmons

Golden orbs of deliciousness

Have I ever mentioned that I love Subaru?

Thanks for reading, and if you’re interested in picking persimmons, the address is: 18131 Traylor Rd. Ramona, CA. Don’t forget to bring a ladder!

B. Tang is starting a new crocheting business called ‘Stitch and Skein.’ She is taking requests, but here is a hat that she made that is up for grabs at $25.

Stitch

and

Skein

Comments
7 Responses to “Persimmon picking”
  1. Alvin says:

    Is that the new Impreza?

  2. love the colors, josh! this is a great post!

  3. Anonymous says:

    hello, I would like to get some info as to are you offering the u=pick persimmons? thank you

  4. Elise says:

    can i order a dark brown crochet hat please?

  5. Anonymous says:

    can i have the location of this place or address, i really want to take my family their for fun. please respond to me viet2hope@yahoo.com thanks, my name kenny ng.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a cool post about my adventures picking persimmons with my friend josh. it also features one of my crocheted […]



Leave a Reply

  • Insert your email address and you'll find out when my new posts are before anyone else!

    Join 13 other followers

