It’s finally Easter!

It has been quite an adventure. 46 long days of not eating meat, a feat I did not think I would be able to succeed in doing last year, I have finally accomplished going without meat or seafood for the entirety of lent.

I’m currently in Canada for my grandfather’s retirement party. He has worked as a primary care physician in Harrow, a small town in Southern Ontario, since 1973. It was amazing to see how many of his patients came out to his retirement to wish him well and to thank him for his service for these past 38 years. So many people talked about how even when he was gravely ill from another surgeon’s incompetence, he would still go into work to take care of his patients. Many of his patients, well into their 80s and 90s all say that it was because of his love and care for them that they were able to make it this far. Even those who had recently lost someone close came out to wish him well. I haven’t seen too many instances wherein members of the community come out to support and give their thanks to their doctors. In the end, I find that its rarer and rarer to be respected by your community nowadays in light of all these malpractice suits.

After the party, I was sitting at the dining table of my grandparents’ house where we had come home from a chinese banquet, where I wasn’t able to eat anything. Once the clock hit 12 am, I went straight to the kitchen and grabbed whatever leftovers we had brought home and ate what was left. At first I was concerned that I wouldn’t be able to digest the meat, and that I would be puking everything out, but thankfully I was alright.

What I’ve learned from this is that vegetarians have it hard, as it is hard to find good eating options at restaurants, and a lot of people make fun of them and taunt them with meat and make annoying comments. But there are many good things about vegetarianism as it takes a lot less resources to feed a vegetarian than a normal meat-heavy diet as animals eat a lot of produce to make the animal grow, while that produce can be used to feed people. Also, while I was on the vegetarian diet, I felt physically better. This could be due to a smaller amount of oil consumed over the 46 days, or perhaps it was the schedule that I was on, where I would eat something every few hours, and would have a more defined sleeping pattern. All in all, I think that I will try to eat less meat in my diet, and have more vegetables.

Leave a Reply

  • Insert your email address and you'll find out when my new posts are before anyone else!

    Join 13 other followers

