Goodbye oh so delicious animal products…for now

Starting this Wednesday, March 9th, I will be giving up meat and seafood, facebook, 9gag.com, and other useless websites in the spirit of Lent. Lent is a period of fasting, first starting on ‘Ash Wednesday’ (March 9th, 2011) and ends on April 23rd, the day before Easter Sunday. The purpose of lent, as told by Wikipedia, is to prepare oneself for the holy week of Christ’s Death and Resurrection. During the time that I normally would be wasting time on the internet, or in response to only eating a vegetarian diet, this time will be spent in self reflection.

Why meat? I chose meat and seafood to challenge myself, and I’ve heard that there are many benefits to a vegetarian diet, thus I give it a shot. Giving up meat will be interesting as I am still training for tough mudder and I’ll have to find a way to get adequate nutrients to keep getting stronger. However, in all honesty, I felt fairly depressed when I left the grocery store with only fruits, vegetables, and tofu. I guess I’ll have to think of new recipes or adapt my normally carnivore recipes to fit these next 6 weeks.For the websites that I’m giving up, the purpose is to be more productive. Rather than wasting time on the computer, I would go out and do more things, like playing more sports, taking photos, processing those photos, or anything else that I might think of.

Shout out to the CEC football team, thank you for an amazing season and letting me play with you guys, and thank you to all the other football teams that made the tournament a memorable experience, and Lighthouse for putting on the tournament every year, even though you guys always say that the tournament is a ‘failure.’

Anyways, I’ll keep you guys posted. Maybe I’ll post some recipes and pictures of my meals.

Image taken from Shirt.woot.com

Leave a Reply

  • Insert your email address and you'll find out when my new posts are before anyone else!

    Join 13 other followers

